Turkish Cypriot president approves new government


National Unity Party (UBP) Chairman Huseyin Ozgurgun reveals new cabinet after ruling coalition fell apart

LEFKOSA, Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus – Turkish Cypriot President Mustafa Akinci has approved a new coalition government cabinet under Prime Minister Huseyin Ozgurgun.

Saturday’s move comes after the UBP party, the junior partner in the wide-based coalition with the Republican Turkish Party-United Forces (CTP-BG), withdrew from the government on April 2.

Ozgurgun’s party formed a coalition with the Democratic Party-National Forces (DP-UG) and independents, and announced the government’s new cabinet list after submitting it for the president’s approval.

The new cabinet members are:

– Prime Minister: Huseyin Ozgurgun

– Foreign Minister: Serdar Ertugruloglu

– Finance Minister: Serdar Denktas

– Interior Minister: Kutlu Evren

– Economy and Energy Minister: Sunat Atun

– Labor and Social Security Minister: Hamza Ersan Saner

– Tourism Minister and Environment Minister: Fikri Ataoglu

– National Education and Culture Minister: Ozdemir Berova

– Health Minister: Faiz Sucuoglu

– Agriculture and Natural Resources Minister: Nazim Cavusoglu

– Public Works and Transportation Minister: Kemal Durust


Amid the government’s resignation, the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is in talks with the Greek Cypriot administration. Hopes have been running high that a reunification agreement could be reached this year.

In July 2015 the UBP formed a coalition government with the CTP-BG. That party currently has 20 seats in the Turkish Cypriot parliament, and the UBP has 18.

The Democratic Party-National Forces (DP-UG) has five deputies, the Communal Democracy Party (TDP) has three, and there are four independent deputies.